Social Media Manager: What I Do

When people ask me what I do for a living, they sometimes look confused. When you tell people you are a writer, they assume you write books. When I explain that I am a Social Media Manager, they nod politely, but I can tell they often don’t get it.

“A What?”

Social Media Manager

What does a Social Media Manager do exactly? Well, I am a writer. I write blog posts, headlines, and catchy intros to encourage people to click on, comment on, or share posts. I also search the web for interesting articles related to a client’s niche business. In other words, I research. Plus, I take thousands of photos to illustrate blogs, tweets, and posts. Best to avoid plagiarism whenever possible. Sometimes I even take those photos and edit them to make collages, add in quotes, or tweak them for promotions. How is that for wearing many hats? I do whatever I can to get my client’s social media needs met.

As a social media marketer, I also need to know my way around various social media platforms. I need to know how many characters I can use in a tweet. I have to create a consistent message and picture of a company on Facebook. On Instagram, I have to figure out what hashtags will attract new followers, and which ones might help me find other people to follow. Not to mention, knowing what social media platforms might be the best fit for a company in the first place.

Unless you have an extensive team available, it is best to focus on what you can handle and do a good job of. A poor showing on a platform can do more harm than good. Especially if people see inconsistent entries and old information. 

What else do I do? I read, to keep my brain and grammar sharp. I keep up with what is going on in the world, so that I can appear current on client’s pages. I touch base with clients, so that I know what is going on with their business, and thus share important events with their customers and followers. I try to make time for additional training of my own, to hone my skills. Sometimes I even get out and network, to meet new clients or to make other connections in my community. You never know when those connections might help me or my clients down the road.

Ultimately, I do whatever it takes to offer the best services for people in need of a social media presence; for those who cannot do so themselves. I keep abreast of changes in the social media world, so that I can share that knowledge with others. Plus, I try to maintain my own social media channels, so potential clients can find me, and see examples of what I offer. You wouldn’t trust someone with your own social media, if they didn’t have a presence of their own. I may not be perfect, but social media rarely is anyway. You need to roll with the changes and that’s what I try to do.

Could you use some help with your social media presence? Try me. I’d love to help any way I can.

2 thoughts on “Social Media Manager: What I Do”

Your words make my day. Thanks for commenting!