Storyteller

IMG_8250
Stories frozen in time…

Stories have been coming to me. Not via my subconscious sadly, but from friends, acquaintances, random people…

They are sorrowful stories. Stories to make your heart bleed. Stories you wish were plucked from a creative mind with a skewed bent. But alas, these tales are the hurtful events all too real to be fiction.

And I want to capture them.

The traumas have been passed to me on the wire, whispered on the wind, and have set up roost in my brain begging to find words and ink to give them the flesh they deserve. Things like that shouldn’t happen, but they do. As awful as a day without sun might seem in the moment, it pales as compared to the hurt meted out by loved ones too wrapped up in their own sense of self to see beyond their actions to the ripples and tsunamis they create around them. How can one not stop their actions before a world is obliterated and lives shattered beyond repair with a hug.

Would that a hug could heal the flesh, the mind, the memories that refuse peaceful sleep or a self-worth we all deserve. Dare I trace these stories to release a piece of hurt from the universe? Would it do any good for those who have lost trust in a world full of rainbows and good intentions? Or would it just help me to see my world and the blessings which lie in its folds?

My shock and shame at people’s bad behaviour steal my hand. Whether it is good or bad, I cannot forgot their stories and must capture their wounds to salve my own. May the Universe forgive you…

7 thoughts on “Storyteller”

  1. There were so many words in this post that spoke to me. “As awful as a day without sun might seem in the moment, it pales as compared to the hurt meted out by loved ones too wrapped up in their own sense of self to see beyond their actions to the ripples and tsunamis they create around them.”

    And, the last paragraph moved me beyond words. I too have felt the tsunamis of life and those who think only of themselves. Thank you for sharing this powerful post.

    Like

    1. Thank you Sheila.

      These stories are people’s experiences and lives. I think we all get wrapped up in our own worlds, but I am quietly humbled to know how blessed I truly am. I have had my bad days, but the tragedies which have been shared with me remind me that sometimes your worst isn’t as bad as it could be. It saddens me to know how thoughtless and cruel people can be.

      The question is, do I have the right to illuminate the stories shared with me? Will they help those who have been hurt or others who have survived similar circumstances? Or have I done enough just by sharing here now?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I wish I could answer that question. Having a story of my own I want to tell, I grapple with whether telling it will hurt or benefit. Me, it will help, others will be hurt by the truth of things they did not know or suspected but denied. I read a good article just recently, “Do I Own My Story; https://brevity.wordpress.com/2016/01/05/do-i-own-my-story/ They didn’t answer the question either, but gave good food for thought.I’ll be interested in your take on the article and what you decide to do. Best of luck.

        Like

      2. I appreciate you weighing in Sheila. At present, I lean towards fiction or perhaps a conglomeration of stories with truth, but minus names. Whether anything gets shared with anyone else is the question though.

        Thanks for the link! I look forward to reading it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Very true. Very touching post on reality. The trick is to continue to be yourself and not be one of those people. Share the goodness and gratefulness that you have. You are making the world a better place. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Suzanne.
      Hearing sorrowful stories gives me pause for reflection for sure. I hope never to have to do more than offer solace to those who are on the other side of the coin.
      Hugs to you.

      Liked by 1 person

Your words make my day. Thanks for commenting!

