Sharing is Caring

Surfing the net
Browsing for content to share is just one part of what I do

I have a confession to make. There are days when I feel like a sham when I call myself a writer.

Yes, I spend an inordinate amount of time at the computer. And yes, I am actually working. BUT, I am not always actively writing.

What I am doing while I sit at my laptop is browsing the web. You might think that is another word for wasting time, but in actuality I am surfing the net (yup, that includes everyone’s favourite time-waster Facebook) for content to share. This even has a fancy title nowadays—Content Curation.

I have several clients whom I do this for. They have Facebook pages, Twitter feeds, Google+ sites, Pinterest boards and LinkedIn accounts and they all need fresh content on them. As I have noted before, when you have fresh content to share, people come to visit. More importantly, web crawlers and search engines take note and stop by too. The more content you publish, the more interesting you are.

In theory anyway. That content still has to be quality, or else your esteem drops in everyone’s eyes, from your clients, to their customers, to search engines, which drop you to the bottom of the pile if they feel you are plagiarizing or just re-posting the same thing ad nauseam.

So my job is to constantly be on the lookout for fresh content that will attract new visitors and keep existing ones coming back. And boy, that is sometimes a tricky task! Can I share that I love holidays, local events, pictures of clients in action and yes, sometimes even cute cat photos? They just make my job easier.

And so do my friends who share things on their Facebook pages, Twitter feeds, Google+ accounts, Pinterest boards and more. The things you find cool, other people find cool too. And if lots of people are interested and sharing them, then my clients just might share them too. It pays to be on the cutting edge, in the know of what’s going on in the world, funny or just plain current. So keep on sharing and don’t get offended if you see your next event shared on a small, local businesses page. It’s good to get the word out and sharing helps do that.

Now, back to surfing the web…

Your words make my day. Thanks for commenting!

