Consistency

It’s true. If you put in the effort, keep up your momentum and dedicate yourself to a longterm goal, eventually there will be results. People notice. The universe notices. And sometimes it deigns to give back.

I have been working as a Freelance Writer for the last five years. During that time, I have had as many as four clients whom I regularly contributed writing to and as little as one lonely client who kept me motivated to keep writing. Some weeks I have written nothing at all for myself and others, I have been seized by inspiration and written or edited many pages of text. My motivation has surged and waned, but I ultimately kept putting my seat in the chair.

Today, several clients again fill my writing roster. I have made excellent connections with people doing fabulous things for themselves, their communities and the environment. I am riding a positive wave (albeit a little warily, wondering when the crest will break) and thrilled with what life is offering me. Whether it is temporary or a new plateau for my writing career, it remains to be seen, but I believe that my commitment to writing has brought me here today. And for that I am grateful.

So if you are starting out and wondering if you can ever make it as a writer in today’s volatile market, my suggestion to you is to keep writing. Put your best effort in and keep at it. With perseverance, consistency and the will to keep learning and writing, eventually you will see results. My bank accounts may still not be overflowing, but I am proud of the writing I have accomplished and the people whom I have had the honour of working with. At the end of the day, that means so much to me. Plus, I suspect that integrity, hardwork and honesty is what draws more people in my direction, so I am going to keep at it.

Consistency, consistency, consistency. Start. And then keep going. Too many give up right before success.

2 thoughts on “Consistency”

  1. All of your comments are spot on. I’ll add that living in the moment rather than waiting for the “crest” to “break” is a more positive option. Keep marketing. Clients come and go. Have a new one ready to take the place and space or add them to your roster.

    Like

Your words make my day. Thanks for commenting!

