Are You Still Doing That Writing Thing?

#TENThingsNOTtosaytoaWRITER

I’ve heard it before. From more than one person. I know I will hear a few of these again, but still stand by my words. I don’t have a choice. It’s my obsession. I hope you do too my fellow writers.

~

For those of you debating writing a book when you retire, Go For IT! Just don’t think it’ll be a cakewalk. Or that you can sit down in your spare few minutes between golf games and bridge lessons to zip it off. It takes a little more time and effort than you can ever imagine.

Writing is soul-sucking, confidence blasting, and endlessly, mind numbingly tedious at times. You not only get caught up in forming the perfect sentence, but are then faced with the daunting task of writing a perfect paragraph, a sublime chapter and a whole riveting novel. And then have to hope that someone is willing to read it. And not rip it to shreds in the editing phase.

That being said, YES, I am still doing that writing thing. I am a sucker for punishment and sometimes believe that I have a modicum of talent. I love when I can create a scene which makes me want to cry at its flow. I blossom like a flower when someone bestows a compliment on my work, especially when I know they have actually read it.

Because you should always find time to read. You just should! It expands your horizons, widens your empathy level and hopefully should give you a sense of awe in that some half-crazed writer was able to not only write and edit the tome, but also pushed through to find a publisher who was willing to print it. It’s no easy task. So respect the poor fools who take their obsession with writing and offer to share their words with the world. Because they do care if that sentence ‘pops’ and will re-write it 20 times over to ensure it does—only to see it axed in the final draft anyway.

Throw writers a bone. Show them a little ❤ friends.

Thank you…

Your words make my day. Thanks for commenting!

