Why YOU Should Be on Pinterest (and Pinning Me)

Here’s a question for you. Have you checked out Pinterest? It is an amazing site where you can get lost in pinboards of cute cats, pithy quotes, trendy home decor ideas and so much more. I warn you though—it is addictive.

That being said, if you haven’t checked it out, you might want to. Yes, it is another place where time stands still and you can look up from your screen only to find out a week has gone by, but if you are a budding author or small business looking to gain more recognition, it just might be the place for you.

Here’s why…Pinterest

In the last month, I had 29 visitors click through to A New Day from Pinterest. That might not sound like much to you, but it was one of the top referring sites over that time period. Many of them came from a pin which linked back to a book review I had written about All the Broken Things by Kathryn Kuitenbrouwer. And while my personal pin only claims to have two people who have repinned it, I found many others (50+) with an intact link back to my site.

That’s not too shabby! Not only does that offer a little advertising to the author of the book (it’s a great book and you should read it if you haven’t), but it also gets new people visiting my blog and potentially new followers. Are you catching my drift yet? In a quick search of Pinterest, I found over fifty people who essentially linked back to my blog. There are quite possibly many more. Not everyone might click on the pin and visit my site, but odds state that some will. And that number will probably continue to rise.

Worm jello shots originally pinned from Writings of a Mrs Mommy http://goo.gl/4skAFE

Take for example another pin that I have on one of my boards. It is for worm jello shots. Gross, fun and very, very popular. I pinned it from Writings of a Mrs Mommy almost 2 years ago. Nine people repinned it today alone, which brought up the total to 375 pins and 39 likes. And those numbers continue to rise daily. How many of those pins have multiple pins? I can only guess.

If you are looking to get the word out about your product or business, you need to think about those numbers though. Sure, some pins are left pinned by you and you alone, but others can explode in popularity. If you can get enough people to pin a good quality pin (good photo, catchy caption, plus a link back to your site), then you just might find the traffic rolling back to your website or blog.

Oh, and did I mention it was FREE to join Pinterest? And that they have business accounts where you can check your analytics to see if Pinterest is working for you?

So are you following my pinboards yet? Get on it! Pin me today!

Visit Katherine’s profile on Pinterest.

4 thoughts on “Why YOU Should Be on Pinterest (and Pinning Me)”

  1. Interesting. I have an Pinterest account but I found I was so fascinated with the ideas, creativity, photos, I wasn’t using it for business. But I was just talking to a friend who’s a freelance writer and tech guru and she says Pinterest is also great for your business. Something to look at again. Thanks for this valuable information.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have seen enough articles that talk about using it for business, but seeing one pin generate hits over and over again has been interesting. I don’t consider myself a huge pinner, but it is another market to check out for marketing purposes.

      (That’s what I tell myself after pinning yet another inspirational quote on writing or my 85th treehouse… ) 🙂

      Like

    1. Pinterest is a great platform for the casual pinner or small business trying to increase their reach. But it’s addictive for either one!

      Thanks for stopping by daisygirl40. 🙂

      Like

Your words make my day. Thanks for commenting!

