A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

Reach for the skies when you dream
A Picture is worth a thousand words and the time saved when finding that picture is priceless.

Ideas come at random times. Just as I am drifting off to sleep, the best poetry fills my head. When I should be focusing on my children and dinner, thoughts strike me for story ideas. And yesterday as I was eating a quick lunch, an organizational idea struck me.

Hurry up and eat, so you can get this down!” my brain demanded.

And I did. My thought, although potentially time-consuming at the outset, just might save me infinite time later.

I am constantly taking pictures. I have thousands of them. I have folders full of flowers, trees, children, leaves, sunshine and more. As I write articles, I often have need of photographs to illustrate a point. That means I either have to go out and take new photos or search through my archives to find an appropriate one from the past. Except many of the old photos are organized according to downloaded date, which doesn’t help much in the finding of specific pics unless I can remember the where and when of them.

So why not create a database of photos organized according to what is in specific folders? What a smart idea! My mind instantly saw the potential and ran with it. If I need a picture of a maple tree in winter for a maple syrup post, all I would have to do is to find the appropriate folder. And they are all my own photos, so there is no fear of copyright infringement.

The trick is it has to be an online photo album or one that I can create online and then save to a disk or cloud server of some sort. Pinterest or Instagram obviously do that, but what if I want them to be private? Hmm, how best to make this happen…

This kind of feels like my writing calendar idea. Apparently in 2015 my life needs organizing.

Mind is whirring. Brain is stirring.
Pictures appearing and time a’flurrying.
Ideas accruing. Overwhelm occurring.
potential, inevitable, conceivable, achievable

Let’s go!

3 thoughts on “A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words”

Your words make my day. Thanks for commenting!

