Spotlight on an Up-and-Coming Canadian Writer: Corrie Adams

Short Fiction Renaissance
Short Fiction Renaissance

This gets pride of placement on my bedside table tonight.

How is this for an excellent way to start a week? I was tapping away at my computer and heard the familiar thump of the lid on my mailbox closing. My postie had visited. No bills today though. I got a cheque from a client and something else. Upon lifting the lid, I was thrilled and more than a little honoured to see a package. I quickly tore away the wrapping to find this book. It is the Anthology from the 2014 WCDR (Writers Community of Durham Region) competition.

Featuring Writer Corrie Adams
Featuring Writer Corrie Adams!

I knew that a good friend of mine had entered the WCDR writing contest this past winter. When she was long-listed, it was an honour for her to be a part of the anthology. But she did one better than that. Corrie Adams went on to win second place in the competition! Of course it is not a surprise, as she is an amazing writer and wonderful inspiration for me. I am thrilled for her nonetheless.

In a galaxy far away and time almost beyond memory, Corrie and I went to high school together. We both crept along the fringes of popular society, each hiding behind our dated glasses and dateless lives. We discovered friends in each other and began the tentative steps that would lead us to our adult lives. Sadly, those steps took us away from each other, but not for long.

In 2009, I was encouraged to start a blog by a fellow coffee shop denizen. He had seen me pour my heart into notebooks and napkins, and suggested it might be another good outlet for my words. Why not? I thought. I wrote short negligible posts that aren’t really much to read now, but I kept at it. And I took another step that helped me to re-enter the world after the death of my husband; I shared a few of those posts on my Facebook page. Wouldn’t you know it, but Corrie read some of those early posts and confided in me that she too had started a blog. Neither of us had many followers, but we encouraged each other along regardless. And the more we wrote, the better both of us got.

Corrie Adams in one of her favourite settings; the Northern Ontario outback

While both of us struggled to define ourselves as writers for so long, I think it is safe to say that we’ve moved beyond that now. Corrie Adams won first place in the Canada Writes “Defining Moments” challenge in early 2014. She also has several other 1st and 2nd place titles from other Canadian Writing Challenges over the last few years. She has had several stories featured in CommuterLit, plus has had stories included in the books “2013 Wordplay” and “Frustrated Writers Presents 2013”. She has also had stories featured in magazines “More of Our Canada” and “Lifestyles Magazine”.

The WCDR Renaissance Anthology is just her latest accolade to add to a writing career that is taking off. She is a Canadian writer to watch and I am not only proud, but blessed to call her a friend. If you haven’t discovered Corrie yet, read her blog today to see what you are missing. Her name is sure to be one you will recognize and remember for many years to come.

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful words with my Corrie.

3 thoughts on “Spotlight on an Up-and-Coming Canadian Writer: Corrie Adams”

  1. Thank you so much for all your kind words, Katherine! I always treasure your support, encouragement and friendship.

    I hope you enjoy all the stories in the book – I am proud to be a part of an anthology that includes so many fine writers of short fiction.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Every word comes from the heart Corrie. You are an amazing writer that inspires me constantly. I admire your drive and creativity. You have a knack for finding me at my lowest and encouraging me to keep writing. I can’t wait to see how much more you accomplish.

      And I will always be proud to call you my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

Your words make my day. Thanks for commenting!

