Return

As the birds return, so too does my writing
As the birds return, so too does my writing

Oh my, it seems my plan to not write for a day backfired. Instead of a one-day hiatus to take in the Olympics (who am I kidding, I was stuck to them most of the two weeks they were on), we are now working on one month. Egad!

I suppose at the time I also got caught up in promoting the story I wrote for the CBC ‘Defining Moments‘ challenge, but really it shouldn’t make a difference. Every time I plugged my story, I knew it was a training ground for any promoting I will have to do for any writing I share along the way. And what better way to promote yourself, than by writing or blogging on a regular basis, so that people can read more of what you have written.

I am forever telling people that if they don’t post regularly, they get forgotten in the avalanche of data that streams through our social media sites on a daily basis. And what did I do, but quietly press “erase” in anyone’s mind that might have been interested in what I’ve got to say.

I shake a finger at myself in shame…

Excuses are just that. No one cares that it was March Break, that there were doctor appointments, snow storms, or personal dramas to attend to. Don’t they all make for interesting fodder in the grand scheme of things? Do I need to remind you that the void speaks higher volumes, than brief snippets tossed out to remind people that you exist? Post pictures, poems, share daily/weekly insights, or tidbits from the bizarre. It doesn’t always matter the what, rather in our age of fast-paced consumption of everything, it matters that you are at the table at all.

That is my lesson for today.

The proof might be in a lack of response from readers or a lack of readers at all. If I’m lucky, people will be able to relate and empathize with me. I know of plenty of other writers who have struggled with lack of motivation, drive or other reasons that take them away from their writing. No more excuses. Today I have written.

Care to share what you’ve written recently?

Your words make my day. Thanks for commenting!

