Editing my Interpersonal

Have you ever suffered from a case of “Foot in Mouth”?

Hey there fellow writers. I have been thinking about myself and the words that I use. Every day I tap away at my laptop writing interesting posts about this and that. A little inspiration goes a long way, and editing makes it shine a little brighter.

Well, I suppose that is for my clients to say, but…

This week I have taken a closer look at the person behind the keyboard. More specifically at my personal communication powers. How is it that I feel like I can craft wonderful sentences and paragraphs, but when it comes to live interpersonal communication, it just doesn’t always come out the way I expect. Heck, sometimes those words are downright awful! You would think that with all my experience with words I would be a little better with crafting brilliant conversations in person, but sadly, that is not always the case. And darn it all, I just haven’t figured out how to go back and delete or edit things that have popped out of my mouth.

That is still an impossibility in this day and age.

Maybe in a few years, we will move beyond the awful gaffes that sometimes slip out as we grow steadily more reliant on electronic gadgets for our communication. Not that I am really looking forward to that though. You miss so much in the verbal nuances and body language that can completely transform a statement. And they haven’t invented iPhones that can hug you back after either. That is a huge detriment.

So I guess I have to contend myself with forgiving me for my lapses in forethought when my mouth opens wide. Perhaps I need to take a little more time to edit sentences in my head before those nasty little words slip out from between my lips. Because words can lift you up or dash you down. They have the power to heal you or hurt you. They are powerful little things.

And this week my words needed a whole mittful of editing. So now I am searching for the backspace button on my life and hoping that I can still salvage my soul with some more carefully chosen words. It  starts with sorry and will hopefully get a little better from there with a little more introspection. Time for some heavy editing! Wish me luck!

No one means all he says, and yet very few say all they mean, for words are slippery and thought is viscous.  ~ Henry Brooks Adams, The Education of Henry Adams, 1907

Your words make my day. Thanks for commenting!

